Woking Across Cultures

real-wok

She said her people were the best cooks, and I had to make a case for mi gente.  I wanted to make something Thai…. Granted, Thais and Chinese are different people with different culinary traditions, but it’s all one wok of life.  There are also certain flavors and smells that are similar including fermented pastes, dried shrimp, and certain herbs.  In Thailand I got my first taste of local, traditional food, which was quite different than stuff you’d find at Amazing Thailand.  The flavors of the North (Esan) are highly spicy and tangy and the smell of fish sauce and grilled meat linger in the air.  In villages, fresh herbs gathered from the local environment and sticky rice were served with most meals.  Bangkok is known as the street food capital of the world, though it’s up for debate.

For me, the whole experience: the smells, the heat, and the sweat made for one…

View original post 893 more words

One thought on “Woking Across Cultures”

  1. My daughter-in-law is from Thailand and is a great cook, so I could almost smell her food when reading this post. My granddaughters are great Thai cooks as well, so I’ll get my fill when I’m visiting them in Hawaii in July.

    Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

